Home » South Africa » Ann Harries

Ann Harries


Ann Harries was born in Cape Town in 1942. She worked in township schools and community centres before moving to England where she became active in the anti-apartheid movement. She founded Education for Democracy in South Africa and was involved with Soundabout. Her first novel was for young adults. She has written two novels for adult since then.

Other links

Ann Harries


1980 The Sound of the Gora (novel)
1999 Manly Pursuits (novel)
2005 No Place for a Lady (novel)
2018 No Tigers in Africa (memoirs)