Home » South Africa » Sindiwe Magona

Sindiwe Magona


Sindiwe Magona was born in Umtata in 1943 and grew up in a township near CapeTown. She worked a a domestic servant and completed her secondary education by correspondence. She later graduated from the University of South Africa and took a Master’s from Columbia University. She has also worked for the United Nations for a number of years. She has published an autobiography, short stories, poetry and novels.

Other links

Her website
Sindiwe Magona
Sindiwe Magona


1990 To My Children’s Children
1991 Living, Loving and Lying Awake at Night
1992 Forced to Grow
1996 Push Push
1998 Mother to Mother
2005 Life is a Hard But Beautiful Thing
2006 The Best Meal Ever!
2008 Beauty’s Gift
2009 Please, Take Photographs
2012 From Robben Island to Bishop’s Court: The Biography of Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane
2014 The Woman on the Moon (children’s)
2014 Greedy Man, Kind Rock (children’s)
2014 Buhle, tHe Calf of Many Colours (children’s)
2104 Nokulunga, Mother of Goodness (children’s)
2014 The Stranger and His Flute (children’s)
2014 Stronger than Lion (children’s)
2015 The Cruel King Lives! (children’s)
2015 Chasing the Tails of My Father’s Cattle