Home » Tanzania » Abdulrazak Gurnah

Abdulrazak Gurnah


Abdulrazak Gurnah was born in Zanzibar in 1948. He left the country to study in England in 1968, first at the University of London and then at the University of Kent, where he obtained his Ph. D. After teaching in England and then lecturing in Nigeria, he returned to the University of Kent where he is now Professor of English and Post-Colonial Studies. His novels have dealt both with the immigrant experience as well as life in Africa. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2021.

Other links

Abdulrazak Gurnah
Abdulrazak Gurnah
Professor Abdulrazak Gurnah
Abdulrazak S Gurnah Biography
Fear and loathing (Gurnah on immigration)


1987 Memory of Departure (novel)
1988 Pilgrim’s Way (novel)
1990 Dottie (novel)
1994 Paradise (novel)
1996 Admiring Silence (novel)
2001 By the Sea (novel)
2005 Desertion (novel)
2006 My Mother Lived on a Farm in Africa (stories)
2011 The Last Gift (novel)
2017 Gravel Heart (novel)
2020 Afterlives (novel)
2023 By the Sea (novel)