Home » Grenada » Merle Collins

Merle Collins


Merle Collins was born in 1950 in Aruba to Grenadian parents. The family moved backed to Grenada soon after her birth. She took a B.A. in English and Spanish from the University of the West Indies, then an M.A. from the University of Georgetown and a Ph.D. from the London School of Economics in government. She is a Professor of English and Comparative Literature at the University of Maryland, after a distinguished career in teaching in the West Indies and England.

Other links

Merle Collins>
Dr Merle Collins


1985 Because the Dawn Breaks (poetry)
1987 Angel (novel)
1990 Rain Darling (stories)
1992 Rotten Pomerack (poetry)
1995 The Colour of Forgetting (novel)
2003 Lady in a Boat (poetry)
2011 The Ladies are Upstairs (stories)
2013 The Governor’s Story: The Authorized Biography of Dame Hilda Bynoe