Home » Turkey » Orhan Pamuk

Orhan Pamuk


Orhan Pamuk was born in Istanbul in 1952. His father was a civil engineer and university teacher. He was one of a large family. When he was younger, he dreamed of being an artist but he graduated from the University of Istanbul in journalism, after having first studied architecture. He lived with his parents till his first novel was published when he was thirty. Neither this nor his second novel has been officially translated into English. However, he achieved great success with his third novel which has been translated into many languages, including English. His subsequent works have been extensively translated and established him as the leading living Turkish writer. He has taken a strong stand on Armenian and Kurdish genocide and rights, which has led to many threats against him in Turkey (see charges below). In 2006 he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Other Links

Orhan Pamuk
Orhan Pamuk (from Nobel Prize site)
Orhan Pamuk
Profile: Orhan Pamuk
Orhan Pamuk (1952-)
Profile: Orhan Pamuk
Orhan Pamuk: A Novelist Where The Currents Cross
Turkish writer Orhan Pamuk receives Nobel Prize
His Nobel Prize lecture
My Turkish Library (Pamuk on his library)
The collector (Pamuk on his book collecting)
Orhan Pamuk reveals plot of his new book ‘The Card Players’

On the charges/threats against him

Writer repeats Turk deaths claim
On trial
Turkish writer faces imprisonment for ‘insulting Turkish identity’
EU blasts Turkish author’s trial
International PEN calls for government condemnation of attacks on author Orhan Pamuk
Pride and suspicion over Pamuk prize
Turk writer’s insult trial halted
Turkish court drops charges against novelist


1982 Cevdet Bey ve Oğullari [Cevdet Bey and His Sons] (novel)
1983 Sessiz ev (Silent House) (novel)
1985 Beyaz Kale (The White Castle) (novel)
1990 Kara Kitap (The Black Book) (novel)
1991 Gizli Yüz (screenplay)
1994 Yeni Hayat (The New Life) (novel)
1998 Benim Adım Kırmızı (My Name Is Red) (novel)
1999 Öteki Renkler (Other Colours) (essays and a story)
2002 Kar (Snow) (novel)
2003 İstanbul: Hatıralar ve Şehir (Istanbul: Memories and the City)
2008 Masumiyet Müzesi (The Museum of Innocence) (novel)
2010 The Naive and the Sentimental Novelist (lecture)
2010 Manzaradan Parçalar: Hayat, Sokaklar, Edebiyat (essays)
2011 Saf ve Düşünceli Romancı (The Naive and the Sentimental Novelist) (literature)
2012 Şeylerin Masumiyeti (The Innocence of Objects) (art)
2014 Kafamda bir Tuhaflik (A Strangeness in My Mind) (novel)
2016 Kırmızı saçlı kadın (The Red-Haired Woman) (novel)
2018 Balkon
2020 Turuncu
2021 Veba Geceleri (Nights of Plague) (novel)