Home » Bosnia » Ivo Andrić

Ivo Andrić


Ivo Andrić was born in 1892 in Dolac, near Travnik, in what was then Austro-Hungary and is now Bosnia. His father, a coppersmith, died of tuberculosis when he was two and he was brought up by his uncle and aunt in Višegrad, known for its bridge over the river Drina, which would be the subject of his best-known novel. After high school in Sarajevo, he went to universities in Zagreb, Vienna and Cracow. He joined the revolutionary Young Bosnia Movement, whose members included Gavrilo Princip, who would later assassinate Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife, an act which led to the start of World War I. After the assassination, Andrić was imprisoned for three years. After the war, he got a job as a civil servant in the newly created Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes. He was already a writer by this time. In 1920 he decided to become a diplomat and lived in many European cities. He finally became Ambassador to Germany though he resigned the post when Germany invaded Yugoslavia in 1941. He spent the war in Belgrade, where he wrote his three most famous novels, which were all published after the war. He held various posts in the Communist government. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1961. He died in 1975.

Books about Ivo Andrić

Vanita Singh Mukerji: Ivo Andric : a Critical Biography

Other links

Ivo Andric
Ivo Andrić
Ivo Andric
Ivo Andrić
Ivo Andric Biography
His story is Yugoslavia


1918 Ex Ponto
1920 Nemiri
1920 Put Alije Đjerzeleza
1924 Pripovetke I
1925 Most na Zepi (The Bridge on the Zepa)
1931 Anikina Vremena
1931 Portugal, zelena zemlja
1931 Pripovetke II
1931 Španska stvarnost i prvi koraci u njoj, putopisi
1935 Njegoš kao tragični junak kosovske misli
1936 Razgovor sa Gojom
1936 Pripovetke III
1945 Izabrane pripovetket
1945 Na Drini ćuprija (The Bridge on the Drina)
1945 Travnička hronika (Bosnian Story; Bosnian Chronicle; The Days of the Consuls)
1945 Gospođjica (The Woman from Sarajevo)
1946 Na Nevskom prospektu
1947 Pripovijetke
1948 Nove pripovetke
1948 Priča o vezirovom slonue (later: Priča o vezirovom slonu, i druge pripovetke) (The Vizier’s Elephant: Three Novellas)
1949 Priča o kmetu Simanu
1952 Pod gradicem: Pripovetke o zivotu bosanskog sela
1954 Prokleta avlija (Devil’s Yard; The Damned Yard)
1956 Igra
1958 Panorama
1958 O priči i pričanju
1963 Sabrana djela Ive Andrica (The Pasha’s Concubine and Other Tales)
1963 Jelena žena koje nema
1966 Ljubav u kasabi: Pripovetke
1968 Aska i vuk: Pripovetke
1976 Eseji i kritike
1976 Kuča na osami
1976 Omerpaša Latas (Omer Pasha Latas: Marshal to the Sultan)
1991 Jevrejske priće
1992 Diplomatski spisi
1992 The Damned Yard and Other Stories