Home » England » Jocelyn Brooke

Jocelyn Brooke


Jocelyn Brooke was born in 1908 in Folkestone. He ran away from school before going to Bedales and then to Worcester College, Oxford, where he published his first book, Six Poems, at his own expense. He was sent down from Oxford after a year. He tried out various jobs, including working in a bookshop and working for the family wine-merchants in Folkestone. In 1949 he enlisted in the Royal Army Medical Corps and re-enlisted as a regular after the war. He used the proceeds from the sale of The Military Orchid to buy himself out. This novel and the other two in the trilogy were semi-autobiographical about his school and army days. As well as novels, he has written poetry and books on botany and literature. He died in 1966.

Other links

Jocelyn Brooke
Jocelyn Brooke
Jocelyn Brooke
Jocelyn Brooke
Jocelyn Brooke’s Poetry


1928 Six Poems
1946 December Spring: Poems
1948 The Military Orchid
1949 The Wonderful Summer
1949 A Mine of Serpents
1949 The Scapegoat
1950 The Goose Cathedral
1950 The Image of a Drawn Sword
1950 The Wild Orchids of Britain
1951 Ronald Firbank
1952 Elizabeth Bowen
1952 The Elements of Death and Other Poems
1953 The Passing of a Hero
1953 The Flower in Season
1954 Private View: Four Portraits
1954 Elizabeth Bowen
1954 Aldous Huxley
1955 The Dog at Clambercrown : an Excursion
1956 The Crisis in Bulgaria or Ibsen to the Rescue!
1961 Conventional Weapons (US: The Name of Greene)
1962 Ronald Firbank and John Betjeman
1964 The Birth of a Legend. A Reminiscence of Arthur Machen and John Ireland