Home » England » Louis de Bernières

Louis de Bernières


De Bernières is an English writer, born in 1954. He studied philosophy at Victoria University, Manchester, and then earned a postgraduate certificate of education at Leicester Polytechnic, before taking an M.A. at the University of London. He is best known for his novels written in the magic realism style, set in (for an Englishman) exotic locales. He served for a short time in the British army before going to work in Colombia. He is an accomplished composer mandolin player and plays with the Antonius Players.

Other links

Louis de Bernieres (1954-)
Louis de Bernieres
Louis de Bernieres
Louis de Bernieres


1991 Señor Vivo and the Coca Lord
1991 The War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts
1992 The Troublesome Offspring of Cardinal Guzman
1993 Labels
1994 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin (US: Corelli’s Mandolin)
1999 A Day out for Mehmet Erbil
2001 Red Dog
2001 Sunday Morning at the Centre of the World
2004 Birds Without Wings
2008 A Partisan’s Daughter
2009 Notwithstanding
2013 Imagining Alexandria (poetry)
2015 The Dust that Falls From Dreams
2016 Blue Dog
2018 So Much Life Left Over
2019 Station Jim
2020 The Autumn of the Ace