Home » England » Sebastian Faulks

Sebastian Faulks


Faulks was born in Newbury in 1953 and attended Cambridge University. He started his career as a teacher and a freelance writer, before getting a job as a reporter with the Daily Telegraph. He ran the book club, the New Fiction Society, before publishing his first novel A Trick of the Light in 1984. He then worked as the literary editor of the Independent. He had his biggest success with Birdsong, a superb novel set in World War 1. Sadly, the quality has declined since then, culminating in writing James Bond and Jeeves novels.

Other Links

His homepage
Sebastian Faulks
Sebastian Faulks
Sebastian Faulks
His Desert Island Discs choice
Sebastian Faulks moves to head off Islam row


1984 A Trick of the Light
1989 The Girl at the Lion d’Or
1992 A Fool’s Alphabet
1993 Birdsong
1996 The Fatal Englishman: Three Short Lives
1998 Charlotte Gray
2001 On Green Dolphin Street
2005 Human Traces
2006 Pistache
2007 Engleby
2008 Devil May Care (James Bond novel)
2009 A Week in December
2011 Faulks on Fiction: Great British Characters and the Secret Life of the Novel
2011 Pistache Returns
2012 A Possible Life
2013 Jeeves and the Wedding Bells
2015 Where My Heart Used to Beat
2018 Paris Echo
2021 Snow Country2023 The Seventh Son