Home » England » David Lodge

David Lodge


David Lodge was born in London in 1935 and educated at University College, London. He has had an academic career, culminating in being made Professor of modern English literature at the University of Birmingham. He is known as much for his academic work as for his novels. In his academic work, he has helped introduce continental literary theory into England. In his novels he has followed a more realist bent, producing, in particular, several novels with an academic background.

Books about David Lodge

Bernard Bergonzi: David Lodge
Bruce K Martin: David Lodge
Merritt Moseley: David Lodge: How Far Can You Go?

Other sites

David Lodge
David Lodge
David Lodge
David Lodge’s Top Ten List


1960 The Picturegoers
1962 Ginger, You’re Barmy
1965 The British Museum is Falling Down
1966 Graham Greene
1966 Language of Fiction: Essays in Criticism and Verbal Analysis of the English Novel
1968 Jane Austen: Emma: a Casebook
1970 Out of the Shelter
1971 Evelyn Waugh
1971 The Novelist at the Crossroads and Other Essays on Fiction and Criticism
1972 20th Century Literary Criticism: A Reader
1975 Changing Places
1977 Modernism, Antimodernism and Postmodernism
1977 The Modes of Modern Writing: Metaphor, Metonymy, and the Typology of The Modern Novelerature
1980 How Far Can You Go? (US: Souls and Bodies)
1981 Working with Structuralism: Essays and Reviews on Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Literature
1984 Small World
1986 Write On: Occasional Essays, ’65-’85
1988 Nice Work
1990 After Bakhtin: Essays on Fiction and Criticism
1991 Paradise News
1991 The Writing Game
1992 The Art of Fiction: Illustrated from Classic and Modern Texts
1995 Therapy
1996 The Practice of Writing
1999 Home Truths: a Play
1999 Home Truths: A Novella
2001 Thinks
2002 Consciousness and the Novel
2004 Author, Author
2006 The Year of Henry James: The Story of a Novel
2008 Deaf Sentence
2011 Man of Parts
2014 Lives in Writing
2015 Quite a Good Time To Be Born: a Memoir, 1935-75
2016 The Man Who Wouldn’t Get Up and Other Stories
2018 Writer’s Luck: A Memoir: 1976-1991
2021 Varying Degrees of Success : A Memoir 1992-2020