Home » England » T F Powys

T F Powys


T F Powys was born in 1875 in Shirley, Derbyshire, the son of a vicar. He was the brother of John Cowper Powys and Llewellyn Powys. He spent much of his adult life in East Chaldon, Dorset and used the village for much of his settings. He was a very religious man and his religion had a major influence on his writings. Apart from, perhaps, Mr. Weston’s Good Wine, Powys is scarcely read nowadays, his reputation overshadowed by his brother’s.

Books about T F Powys

Henry Coombes: T. F. Powys
Hector Kenneth Hopkins: The Powys Brothers. A Biographical Appreciation
Alan Howe: John Cowper Powys, Theodore Francis Powys, Llewelyn Powys: a reader’s guide and checklist of the pricipal writings of the Powys family
Richard Perceval Graves: The Brothers Powys


T F Powys
T F Powys
Theodore Francis Powys (1875-1953)
A Powys website
The Derbyshire Powys – Britain’s most accomplished literary family
The PowysFamily


1916 The Soliloquy of a Hermit
1923 Black Bryony
1923 The Left Leg
1924 Mark Only
1925 Mr. Tasker’s Gods
1925 Mockery Gap
1926 A Stubborn Tree
1926 A Strong Girl and The Bride
1926 Innocent Birds
1926 Soliloquies of a Hermit
1926 Feed My Swine
1927 Mr. Weston’s Good Wine
1927 What Lack I Yet?
1927 The Rival Pastors
1928 The House with the Echo : Twenty-Six Stories
1928 The Dewpond
1929 An Interpretation of Genesis
1929 Fables
1930 Uriah on the Hill
1930 Kindness in a Corner
1930 The White Paternoster and Other Stories
1930 Christ in the Cupboard
1930 The Key of the Field
1930 Uncle Dottery, a Christmas Story
1931 Unclay
1931 The Only Penitent
1931 When Thou Wast Naked
1932 The Tithe Barn and The Dove and the Eagle
1932 The Two Thieves
1935 Make Thyself Many
1935 Captain Patch: Twenty-One Stories
1937 Goat Green or The Better Gift
1941 No Painted Plumage
1946 Bottle’s Path and Other Stories
1947 God’s Eyes A-Twinkle
1966 Rosie Plum and Other Stories
1970 The Strong Wooer
1989 Father Adam
1991 The Market Bell
1995 Mock’s Curse: Nineteen Stories
1997 The Sixpenny Strumpet