Home » England » Rupert Thomson

Rupert Thomson


Rupert Thomson was born in Eastbourne in 1955. After graduating from Cambridge University, where he read medieval history, he travelled around North America and then taught English in Athens. He worked as an advertising copywriter and then at a variety of odd jobs in various parts of the world. His first novel, Dreams of Leaving, was an amazing debut and set him off on a career as a”dark” writer with a new vision. He has continued to produce interesting, dark novels that are well worth reading.

Other links

Rupert Thomson
Rupert Thomson
In The Wilds Of Industrial Russia For Research I Will Not Use (Thomson on his research for Katherine Carlyle)
Transcript of online chat
Rupert Thomson Responds (Q&A)


1987 Dreams of Leaving
1991 The Five Gates of Hell
1993 Air & Fire
1996 The Insult
1998 Soft!
1999 The Book of Revelation
2005 Divided Kingdom
2007 Death of a Murderer
2010 This Party’s Got to Stop
2013 Secrecy
2015 Katherine Carlyle
2018 Never Anyone But You
2020 NVK (under pseudonym of Temple Drake)
2021 Barcelona Dreaming
2023 Dartmouth Park
2024 How to Make a Bomb