Home » England » Jeanette Winterson

Jeanette Winterson


Jeanette Winterson was born in Manchester in 1959 and adopted while still very young by two Pentecostal Evangelists and brought up in Accrington. She was brought up in a religious environment. When she was a teenager, her lesbianism led to an estrangement with her parents and she left home, working at various jobs, before going to Oxford University to study English. After university, she was involved in publishing and the Roundhouse Theatre. Her first novel was published in 1985 but it was not till it became a TV series in 1990 did she have much success. After initial critical acclaim, her bad behaviour, self promotion – she named herself as her favourite living author – and her outing of a former lover who was now married turned off many critics and resulted in poor relations between her and the press. However, she still garners critical acclaim for her work and writes for many newspapers and magazines.

Other links

Her own site
Jeanette Winterson
Jeanette Winterson
Jeanette Winterson
Jeanette Winterson
God’s gift to women (profile)
Jeanette Winterson (1959 – )
Jeanette Winterson at the Complete Review
Jeanette Winterson’s Enchanted Science (Ph. D. thesis)
Q&A: Jeanette Winterson
Memory and Oblivion: The Historical Fiction of Rikki Ducornet, Jeanette Winterson and Susan Daitch


1985 Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit
1985 Boating for Beginners
1986 Fit for the Future: The Guide for Women Who Want to Live Well
1987 The Passion
1989 Sexing the Cherry
1992 Written On the Body
1994 Art and Lies: A Piece for Three Voices and a Bawd
1995 Art Objects: Essay on Ecstasy and Effrontery
1995 Great Moments in Aviation: The Script
1997 Gut Symmetries
1998 The World and Other Places
1998 The Dreaming House
2000 The PowerBook
2003 The King of Capri
2004 Lighthousekeeping
2005 Weight
2006 Tanglewreck
2007 The Stone Gods
2009 The Battle of the Sun
2009 The Lion, The Unicorn and Me: The Donkey’s Christmas Story
2011 Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?
2012 The Daylight Gate
2015 The Gap of Time
2016 Christmas Days (stories)
2018 Courage Calls to Courage Everywhere
2019 Frankissstein (novel)
2021 12 Bytes: How We Got Here. Where We Might Go Next (essays)
2023 Night Side of the River: Ghost Stories