Home » Ireland » Seán O’Faoláin

Seán O’Faoláin


Seán O’Faoláin was born John Francis Whelan in 1900 in Cork. In 1918 he joined the Irish Volunteers, fighting for Irish independence and changed his name to Seán O’Faoláin. He continued to fight for Irish independence but finished his studies at the National University of Ireland and then at Harvard. After Harvard, he taught in the USA and England, before returning to Ireland. He became a professional and prolific writer, producing short stories, novels, plays, biographies, travel books and other writings. He also edited the influential magazine The Bell. He died in 1991.

Books about Seán O’Faoláin

Maurice Harmon: Seán O’Faoláin

Other links

Seán O’Faoláin
Seán O’Faoláin: 1900-1991


1932 Midsummer Night Madness
1933 A Nest of Simple Folk
1933 The Life Story of Eamon De Valera
1935 There’s a Birdie in the Cage
1936 Bird Alone
1937 A Purse of Coppers
1938 King of the Beggars; a Life of Daniel O’Connell
1938 She Had To Do Something
1940 Come Back to Erin
1941 An Irish Journey
1942 The Great O’Neill
1943 Song of Ireland
1943 The Story of Ireland
1947 Teresa and Other Stories
1948 The Irish
1948 The Man Who Invented Sin
1949 A Summer in Italy
1951 The Short Story
1952 Newman’s Way; The Odyssey of John Henry Newman
1953 South to Sicily
1953 An Autumn in Italy
1956 The Vanishing Hero; Studies in Novelists of the Twenties
1957 Stories
1957 Finest Stories
1959 The Finest Stories of Seán O’Faoláin
1962 I Remember! I Remember!
1964 Vive Moi!
1966 The Heat of the Sun
1971 The Talking Trees and Other Stories
1976 Foreign Affairs and Other Stories
1978 Selected Stories of Seán O’Faoláin
1980 Collected Stories of Seán O’Faolain I
1987 Constance Markievicz
1989 And Again?