Home » Italy » Corrado Alvaro

Corrado Alvaro


Corrado Alvaro was born in San Luca in 1895. He was one of six children. His father was a primary school teacher and founded an evening school for farmers and illiterate shepherds. When he was ten he went to a Jesuit school in Frascati, where he wrote his first poetry. He was expelled when caught reading Carducci’s Hymn to Satan. During World War 1 he fought in an infantry regiment, he was wounded and went to Rome where he worked as a journalist. He moved to Milan, where he worked for Corriere della Sera.

In 1919 he graduated in literature from the University of Milan. He then worked as a correspondent in Paris. He signed Benedetto Croce’s Manifesto of the Anti-Fascist Intellectuals and, in 1926, he published his first novel, about the rise of Fascism in Italy. He worked for a while as a correspondent in Berlin before returning to Italy. After visiting Russia, he published L’uomo è forte (Man Is Strong; later: Fear in the World), which criticised Stalin. During the war he was mostly in Rome, working some of the time as theatre critic. When the Germans invaded, he fled under an assumed name and earned a living teaching English.

After the war he co-founded the National Writers’ Union of which he remained secretary till his death. As well as writing books and screenplays, he worked in broadcasting and journalism. He died in 1956, after having contracted an abdominal tumour. He left behind several unfinished novels.


Corrado Alvaro
Corrado Alvaro: An Introduction to His Life and Work
Corrado Alvaro
Corrado Alvaro and the Calabrian mafia: a critical case study of the use of literary and journalistic texts in research on Italian organized crime
Corrado Alvaro (in Italian)
Corrado Alvaro (in Italian)
Corrado Alvaro (in Italian)
Il cronista antifascista Corrado Alvaro (in Italian)
Corrado Alvaro, il più grande scrittore della Calabria (in Italian)


1912 Polsi nell’arte, nella leggenda, e nella storia
1917 Poesie grigioverdi
1920 La siepe e l’orto
1926 L’uomo nel labirinto
1929 L’amata alla finestra
1930 Vent’anni
1930 Gente in Aspromonte (Revolt In Aspromonte)
1933 Itinerario italiano
1934 Il mare
1934 Terra Nuova. Prima cronaca dell’Agro Pontino
1938 L’uomo è forte (Man Is Strong; later: Fear in the World)
1940 Incontri d’amore
1946 L’età breve
1949 Lunga notte di Medea
1950 Quasi una vita
1952 l nostro tempo e la speranza
1955 Un fatto di cronaca
1957 Belmoro
1960 Mastrangelina
1961 Tutto è accaduto