Home » Scotland » Andrew Crumey

Andrew Crumey


Andrew Crumey was born in 1961 in Glasgow. He studied at St Andrew’s University and then took a a PhD in theoretical physics from Imperial College, London. He started writing fiction at an early age and his first novel was inspired by quantum mechanics. He lectured in creative writing at Newcastle University and Northumbria University. He has gone on to write nine well-received novels.
Jonathan Coe said of him :
One of my three or four favourite modern writers – a wise, funny, alert and original novelist who has never disappointed and also a writer more interested in inheriting the mantle of Perec and Kundera than Amis and Drabble.

Other links

His homepage
Andrew Crumey
Andrew Crumey
Andrew Crumey
Andrew Crumey


1994 Music, in a Foreign Language
1995 Pfitz
1996 D’Alembert’s Principle
2000 Mr Mee
2004 Mobius Dick
2008 Sputnik Caledonia
2013The Secret Knowledge
2018The Great Chain of Unbeing
2023 Beethoven’s Assassins