Home » Scotland » Jenni Fagan

Jenni Fagan


Jenni Fagan was born in 1978 in Livingston. Like Anais, the narrator of her novel Panopticon, she was in care for all her childhood and twice adopted, neither of which worked out. She graduated from Greenwich University with the highest possible mark for a student of Creative Writing, and won a scholarship to the Royal Holloway MFA. She has worked for the Norfolk Blind Association as a creative writing tutor, been Lewisham Hospital’s Writer in Residence and built The Scold’s Bridle, a large sculpture engraved with words written by women in prison in the UK and US. She was nominated as one of Granta’s Best Young British Novelists in 2013.

Other links

Jenni Fagan
Granta Best of Young British Novelists: Jenni Fagan
Five-minute Memoir: Jenni Fagan remembers being pregnant


2010 Urchin Belle (poetry)
2010 The Dead Queen of Bohemia (poetry)
2012 Panopticon (novel)
2012 The Acid Burn No Face Man and Impilo (poetry)
2016 The Dead Queen of Bohemia: New & Collected Poems (poetry)
2016 The Sunlight Pilgrims (novel)
2018 The Small Clam and Anvil (novel)
2018 The Luckenbooth (novel)
2018 There’s a Witch in the Word Machine (poetry)
2019 Truth (poetry)
2021 Luckenbooth (novel)
2022 Hex (novel)
2022 The Bone Library (poetry)
2023 Ootlin (memoir)