Home » Scotland » A L Kennedy

A L Kennedy


A (lison) L(ouise) Kennedy was born in Dundee in 1965. She attended the University of Warwick. She has been recognised as one of the foremost of the new Scottish writers and was in Granta‘s second list of best young British novelists. She is also known for having had writer’s block, which prevented her from producing a novel, so she turned to writing about bullfighting.

Other links

A. L. Kennedy (her own website)
A. L. Kennedy
A. L. Kennedy
Blissed Out Bethan Roberts talks to A. L. Kennedy about weird sex and the problem with women’s writing
Tired and tested: my New Novel begins
Rooms not of one’s own (article by Kennedy)
Navigating the stormy waters of a writer’s life (article by Kennedy)
‘Comedy is my self-defence’ (article by Kennedy on her appearance as a stand-up comic)


1990 Night Geometry and the Garscadden Trains (stories)
1993 Looking for the Possible Dance (novel)
1994 Now That You’re Back (stories)
1995 So I Am Glad (novel)
1997 Original Bliss (novel)
1997 The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp (cinema)
1999 Everything You Need (novel)
1999 On Bullfighting (non-fiction)
2003 Indelible Acts (stories)
2005 Paradise (novel)
2007 Day (novel)
2009 What Becomes (stories)
2010 Luwak Care and Breeding
2011 The Blue Book (novel)
2013 On Writing
2014 All the Rage
2016 Serious Sweet
2018 The Little Snake
2020 We Are Attempting to Survive Our Time (stories)
2021 Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Great Big Purple Underwater Underpants Adventure (children’s)