Home » Scotland » Muriel Spark

Muriel Spark


Muriel Spark was born Muriel Camberg in 1918 in Edinburgh. Her father was Jewish and her mother Anglican but Spark herself became a devout Catholic. She started writing poetry when she was nine,”improving” Robert Browning. After school, she studied at a secretarial college and then became a secretary. In 1937 she travelled to Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) to marry Ronald Spark. They had one son but were later divorced. She returned to England in 1944 and worked in political intelligence. Her first published work was poetry but she was encouraged to write fiction when she won a short story competition in the Observer newspaper. In 1954 she became a Roman Catholic and published her first novel in 1957. As well as many successful novels, she wrote biography, critical works and plays. She died in 2006.

Books about Muriel Spark

Alan Bold: Muriel Spark
Bryan Cheyette: Muriel Spark
Allan Massie: Muriel Spark
Page Norman: Muriel Spark
Martin Stannard: Muriel Spark: The Biography (standard biography)
Dorothea Walker: Muriel Spark

Other links

Muriel Spark
Muriel Spark
Muriel Spark
A girl of slender means


1951 Child of Light
1952 The Fanfarlo and Other Verse
1953 Emily Brontë: Her Life and Work
1953 Harper and Wilton
1957 The Comforters
1958 Robinson
1958 The Go-Away Bird
1959 Memento Mori
1960 The Bachelors
1960 The Ballad of Peckham Rye
1961 The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
1963 Doctors of Philosophy
1963 The Girls of Slender Means
1965 The Mandelbaum Gate
1967 Collected Poems I
1968 The Public Image
1968 The Very Fine Clock
1970 The Driver’s Seat
1971 Not To Disturb
1973 The Hothouse by the East River
1974 The Abbess of Crewe
1976 The Takeover
1979 Territorial Rights
1981 Loitering with Intent
1982 Bang Bang You’re Dead
1984 The Only Problem
1985 Mary Shelley
1985 The Stories of Muriel Spark
1987 Going Up to Sotheby’s
1988 A Far Cry from Kensington
1990 Symposium
1992 Curriculum Vitae
1992 John Masefield
1993 Omnibus I
1993 The Essence of the Brontës
1993 The French Window and The Small Telephone
1994 Omnibus II
1994 The Collected Stories
1995 The Portobello Road
1995 The Hanging Judge
1996 Omnibus III
1996 Reality and Dreams
1996 Harper and Wilton
1997 Omnibus IV
1997 Open to the Public
1997 The Young Man Who Discovered The Secret of Life & Other Stories
1998 The Quest for Lavishes Ghast
2000 Aiding And Abetting
2000 A Hundred and Eleven Years Without a Chauffeur
2001 The Complete Short Stories (US: All the Stories of Muriel Spark)
2002 The Snobs
2003 The Ghost Stories of Muriel Spark
2004 The Finishing School
2004 All the Poems
2004 Author’s Ghosts: Seven Poems