Home » Scotland » Irvine Welsh

Irvine Welsh


Irvine Welsh was born in 1958 in Leith, Edinburgh. His father was a dock worker and then a carpet salesman, while his mother was a waitress. He trained as an electrician but worked a variety of jobs before going to London, where he worked for Hackney Council and studied computing. He returned to Edinburgh and worked for the Council and a took an MBA at Heriot-Watt University. During this period he was a self-admitted drug user. His first novel Trainspotting brought him rapid fame. While he has never equalled that success, he has continued to successfully publish books, including Porno, a follow-up to Trainspotting.

Other links

His own website
Irvine Welsh
Irvine Welsh
Irvine Welsh
Irvine Welsh (1958-)
The trend spotter (Guardian profile)
Trainspotting’s’ Irvine Welsh pulls no punches – in life or his books
Author Welsh’s ‘debt’ to Austen
My other life: Irvine Welsh
Would the real Irvine Welsh shoot up?


1992 Past Tense: Four Stories from a Novel (original version of Trainspotting
1993 Trainspotting (novel)
1994 The Acid House (stories)
1995 Marabou Stork Nightmares (novel)
1996 Ecstasy (stories)
1998 Filth (novel)
1998 You’ll Have Had Your Hole (drama)
1999 The Acid House: A Screen Play
2001 Glue (novel)
2002 Porno (novel)
2006 The Bedroom Secrets of the Master Chefs (novel)
2007 If You Liked School You’ll Love Work (stories)
2008 Crime (novel)
2009 Reheated Cabbage (stories)
2012 Skagboys (novel)
2014 The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins (novel)
2015 A Decent Ride (novel)
2016 The Blade Artist (novel)
2017 T2 trainspotting (novel)
2018 Rave: Vintage Minis (story)
2018 Dead Men’s Trousers (novel)
2022 The Long Knives (novel)