Home » Sweden » Hjalmar Söderberg

Hjalmar Söderberg


Hjalmar Söderberg was born in Stockholm in 1869. His father was a civil servant. Though he enrolled at Uppsala University, he only attended classes for a few months before taking up a variety of jobs, including working as a reporter. He started writing poetry and short stories but had little success. He published his first novel in 1895 about a young somewhat immoral poet and was condemned for not condemning the immorality of his hero. He had some success with his next book, a book of short stories but it was with his novel, Doktor Glas (Doctor Glas), published in 1905 that he had real success and it has become a Swedish classic. Though he wrote further novels and stories, in later life he turned more to journalism and criticism. He was particularly critical of the church and also attacked Nazism. He spent the last thirty years of his life in Copenhagen, marrying a Danish woman, and died there in 1941, expecting to be arresting by the Nazis at any moment.

Other links

Hjalmar Söderberg
His grave
Hjalmar Söderberg (in Swedish)


1895 Förvillelser
1895 Oscar Levertin
1898 Historietter
1898 Den talangfulla draken: Historier
1898 Skrifter
1901 Martin Bircks ungdom (Martin Birck’s Youth)
1903 Främlingarna
1905 Doktor Glas (Doctor Glas)
1906 Gertrud
1907 Det mörknar över vägen
1908 Valda sidor
1909 Hjärtats oro
1912 Aftonstjärnan
1912 Den allvarsamma leken (The Serious Game)
1913 Den talangfulla draken
1918 Jahves eld
1919 Preludier
1921 Forntid och saga
1921 Vers och varia
1922 Ödestimmen
1928 Jesus Barabbas
1929 Resan till Rom
1932 Den förvandlade Messias
1935 Selected Short Stories
1942 Sista boken
1946 Visheten, Maktenoch och Kvinnan
1969 Aforismer och maximer
1987 Short Stories
1988 Hjalmar Söderberg i Kristianstad