Home » Wales » Stuart Evans

Stuart Evans


Stuart Evans was born in Swansea in 1934. His father was a teacher. He took an M.A. from Oxford University and then worked as a writer, lecturer and radio producer. As well as his novels and poetry, he also wrote thrillers with his wife, Kay, under the pseudonym Hugh Tracy, and, also with his wife, a guidebook to Greece. He died in 1998.

Other links

Stuart Evans
Library of Wales: The Caves of Alienation (includes brief bio)


1955 Elegy for the Death of a Clown (poetry)
1972 Imaginary Gardens with Real Toads (poetry)
1974 Meritocrats (novel)
1976 The Gardens of the Casino (novel)
1977 The Caves of Alienation (novel)
1977 The Function of the Fool (poetry)
1978 Centres of Ritual (novel – Windmill Hill series)
1979 Occupational Debris (novel – Windmill Hill series)
1982 Temporary Hearths (novel – Windmill Hill series)
1984 Houses on the Site (novel – Windmill Hill series)
1987 Seasonal Tribal Feasts (novel – Windmill Hill series)

(with wife Kay, as Hugh Tracy)
1969 Death in Disguise
1970 Career with Death
1976 Death in Reserve