Home » Wales » T. Rowland Hughes

T. Rowland Hughes


T. Rowland Hughes was born in Llanberis in 1903. He took first class honours in English and Welsh at University College, Bangor. After teaching for two years, he took his M.A. and then did a B.Litt. at Oxford. He became a lecturer and then principal of the Mary Ward Settlement and then organised features programmes for the BBC in Cardiff. He wrote plays, a radio play, poetry and novels (mainly about working in the slate quarries) in Welsh. Though considered one of the great Welsh authors, he is barely known outside Wales. He died in 1949 from multiple sclerosis.

Books about T. Rowland Hughes

John Rowlands: T. Rowland Hughes

Other links

Thomas Rowland Hughes
Hughes, Thomas Rowland


1943 O Law i Law (From Hand to Hand) (novel)
1944 William Jones (William Jones) (novel)
1945 Yr Ogof (The Story of Joseph of Arimathea) (novel)
1945 Y Ffordd (The Open Road) (drama)
1946 Chwalfa (Out of Their Night) (novel)
1947 Y Cychwyn (The Beginning) (novel)
1948 Cân neu ddwy (poetry)