Home » New Zealand » Patricia Grace

Patricia Grace


Patricia Grace was born in Wellington in 1937. She is of Maori descent. She trained as a teacher. She started to seek out New Zealand fiction available before producing her first collection, the first short story collection by a Maori woman writer. She has continued to write from the Maori perspective. As well as writing novels and short stories, she has also written several children’s books.

Other links

Patricia Grace
Patricia Grace
In Praise Of New Zealand’s Patricia Grace


1975 Waiariki and Other Stories (stories)
1978 Mutuwhenua: The Moon Sleeps (novel)
1980 Dream Sleepers and Other Stories (stories)
1981 Kuia and the Spider / Te Kuia me te Pungawerewere (children’s)
1984 Wahine Toa (with Robyn Kahukiwa)
1984 Watercress Tuna and the Children of Champion Street / Te Tuna Watakirihi me Nga Tamariki o te Tiriti o Toa (children’s)
1986 Potiki (novel)
1987 Electric City and Other Stories (stories)
1991 Selected Stories (stories)
1992 Cousins (novel)
1993 The Trolley (children’s)
1993 The Geranium (children’s)
1994 Collected Stories
1994 The Sky People (stories)
1998 Baby No-eyes (novel)
2001 Dogside Story (novel)
2004 Tu (novel)
2006 Small Holes In The Silence (stories)
2008 Maraea and the albatrosses (children’s)
2009 Ned & Katina: A True Love Story (novel)
2015 Chappy (novel)
2015 Whiti te rā! (Haka) (children’s)
2021 From the Centre : A Writer’s Life
2024 Bird Child and Other Stories