Home » South Africa » J.M. Coetzee

J.M. Coetzee


J(ohn) M(axwell) Coetzee was born in Cape Town in 1940 and studied both in South Africa and the United States as a computer scientist and linguist. He is the only person to win two Man Booker Prizes. His work is typified by his”deconstruction” (yes, I know, I hate that word too) of Western literature (Dostoevsky, Defoe), his sparse Afrikaaner view of history and his brilliant almost allegorical dissection of the structures of power. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. In 2006 he became an Australian citizen. He is undoubtedly the leading South African novelist.

Books about J M Coetzee

Dominic Head: J.M. Coetzee

Other links

J. M. Coetzee
J. M. Coetzee
J. M. Coetzee
J. M. Coetzee
Featured Author: J. M. Coetzee (New York Times)
Portrait of the Writer as an Afrikaner


1974 Dusklands
1977 In the Heart of the Country (US: From the Heart of the Country)
1980 Waiting for the Barbarians
1983 Life and Times of Michael K
1986 Foe
1988 White Writing: On the Culture of Letters in South Africa
1990 Age of Iron
1992 Doubling the Point: Essays and Interviews
1994 The Master of Petersburg
1996 Giving Offense: Essays on Censorship
1997 Boyhood: Scenes from Provincial Life
1999 Disgrace
1999 The Novel in Africa
1999 The Lives of Animals
2001 Stranger Shores: Literary Essays, 1986-1999
2002 Youth: Scenes from Provincial Life II
2003 Elizabeth Costello
2005 Slow Man
2007 Diary of a Bad Year
2007 Inner Workings: Literary Essays, 2000-2005
2009 Summertime
2013 The Childhood of Jesus
2013 Here & Now (with Paul Auster)
2015 The Good Story
2016 The Schooldays of Jesus
2017 Late Essays 2006-2017
2020 The Death of Jesus
2022 El Polaco