Home » Chicano » Rudolfo Anaya

Rudolfo Anaya


Rudolfo Anaya was born in 1937 in Pastura, New Mexico. His family moved to Santa Rosa when he was still young and then, when he was fifteen, to Albuquerque. He studied English at the University of New Mexico and, after graduation, started teaching at elementary school. He returned to university and took two master’s degrees, one in literature and the other in counseling. He then became a counselor at the University of Albuquerque. He had written other novels before Bless Me, Ultima but they were not published. He had considerable difficulty getting this novel published but finally it was published by Quinto Sol. After its success, he was offered a post teaching creative writing at the University of New Mexico and remained there till his retirement in 1993. He has continued to write, producing novels (including mysteries and children’s writing), short stories, poetry and plays and he also has supported and promoted Chicano literature. He died in 2020.

Books about Rudolfo Anaya

Paul Vasallo (Ed): The Magic of Words: Rudolfo A. Anaya & His Writings

Other links

Rudolfo Anaya
Rudolfo Anaya
Rudolfo Anaya
Rudolfo Anaya
Rudolfo Anaya Digital Archive


1972 Bless Me, Ultima
1976 Heart of Aztlan
1979 Tortuga
1982 The Silence of Llano (stories)
1984 The Legend of La Llorona (folk stories)
1985 The Adventures of Juan Chicaspatas (poem)
1986 A Chicano in China
1987 The Farolitos of Christmas: A New Mexican Christmas Story (children’s)
1987 Lord of the Dawn: The Legend of Quetzalcoatl (folk stories)
1987 The Season of La Llorona (drama)
1992 Matachines (drama)
1992 Alburquerque (and, yes, there is an extra r)
1992 Incredible Elfego Baca: Good Man, Bad Man of the Old West
1995 Zia Summer (mystery)
1995 Descansos : An Interrupted Journey
1996 Jalamanta: a Message from the Desert
1996 Rio Grande Fall (mystery)
1997 Maya’s Children: The Story of La Llorana (children’s)
1998 Farolitos for Abuelo (children’s)
1998 Shaman Winter (mystery)
1999 My Land Sings: Stories from the Rio Grande (children’s)
2000 Roadrunner’s Dance (children’s)
2000 Elegy on the Death of Cesar Chavez (poem)
2004 The Santero’s Miracle: A Bilingual Story (children’s)
2004 Serafina’s Stories
2005 Jemez Spring (mystery)
2006 The Curse of the ChupaCabra (children’s)
2006 The Man Who Could Fly and Other Stories (stories)
2007 The First Tortilla (children’s)
2008 ChupaCabra and the Roswell UFO (children’s)
2011 Randy Lopez Goes Home (novel)
2013 The Old Man’s Love Story (novel)
2016 The Sorrows of Young Alfonso (novel)
2018 Chupacabra meets Billy the Kid (novel)
2019 No More Bullies! (children’s)