Home » USA » Hortense Calisher

Hortense Calisher


Hortense Calisher was born in New York in 1911. Her father was a Southern gentleman from Richmond, who manufactured soap and perfume, and her mother a German immigrant. She studied English and philosophy at Barnard College and then went to work as social worker. After her marriage and the birth of her two children, she started to write short stories, which were initially published in the New Yorker. Since then she has written many short stories, novellas and novels, as well as a memoir. She has also taught at numerous US universities. She died in 2009.

Other links

Hortense Calisher
Hortense Calisher


1951 In the Absence of Angels (short stories)
1961 False Entry (novel)
1962 Tale for the Mirror: A Novella and Other Stories (novella and short stories)
1963 Textures of Life (novel)
1964 Extreme Magic: A Novella and Other Stories (novella and short stories)
1965 Journal from Ellipsia (novel)
1966 The Railway Police and The Last Trolley Ride (novellas)
1969 The New Yorkers (novel)
1969 What Novels Are (lecture)
1971 Queenie (novel)
1972 Herself: An Autobiographical Work (memoir)
1972 Standard Dreaming (novel)
1973 Eagle Eye (novel)
1975 The Collected Stories of Hortense Calisher (short stories)
1977 On Keeping Women (novel)
1983 Mysteries of Motion (novel)
1985 Saratoga, Hot (short stories)
1986 The Bobby-Soxer (novel)
1987 Age (novel)
1988 Kissing Cousins: A Memory (memoir)
1992 The Small Bang (as Jack Fenno) (novel)
1993 In the Palace of the Movie King (novel)
1997 In the Slammer with Carol Smith (novel)
1997 The Novellas of Hortense Calisher (novellas)
2003 Sunday Jews (novel)
2004 Tattoo for a Slave (memoir)