Home » USA » Michael Chabon

Michael Chabon


Michael Chabon was born in 1964 in Columbia, Maryland. After his parents divorced when he was eleven, the family moved to Pittsburgh, where he attended the University of Pittsburgh. He went to the University of California, Irvine for graduate school, presenting his novel The Mysteries of Pittsburgh as his thesis. His professor sent it to his agent and the novel was published to great acclaim when Chabon was twenty-three. He is married to Ayelet Waldman, the mystery writer, and they live in Berkeley, California, with their three children.

Other links

Michael Chabon (his agent)
Michael Chabon
Michael Chabon’s Imaginary Jews
The Writer’s Notebook: Michael Chabon
Interview (on Fountain City, his unpublished novel)
Books to snack on (“a literary menu for blocked writers”)
Secret Skin An essay in unitard theory (article by Chabon)


1988 The Mysteries of Pittsburgh (novel)
1991 A Model World and Other Stories
1995 Wonder Boys (novel)
1999 Werewolves In Their Youth (stories)
2000 The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay (novel)
2002 Summerland (young adult)
2004 The Final Solution: A Story of Detection (novella)
2007 The Yiddish Policemen’s Union (novel)
2007 Gentlemen of the Road (novel)
2008 Maps and Legends (essays)
2010 Manhood for Amateurs (essays)
2011 The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man (children’s)
2012 Telegraph Avenue (novel)
2016 Moonglow (novel)
2018 Pops (essays)
2018 Bookends : Collected Intros and Outros
2020 Awesome Man : The Mystery Intruder (children’s)