Home » USA » E. L. Doctorow

E. L. Doctorow


E. L. (Edgar Laurence) Doctorow was born in New York in 1931. His father worked selling electrical goods. He attended Kenyon College, primarily to study with John Crowe Ransom. However, he read philosophy and spent much of his time involved with the dramatic society. He went on to study drama at Columbia, before spending two years in the army, stationed in Germany. After the army, he worked as a reader for a film company before working as an editor for various publishers. He continued working as an editor till he became visiting writer at the University of California. As well as plays and essays, he has written several novels, dealing with events in US history. He died in 2015.

Other links

E. L. Doctorow
E. L. Doctorow
E. L. Doctorow
Featured Author: E. L. Doctorow
Bush’s Intelligence (article by Doctorow)


1960 Welcome to Hard Times (UK: Bad Man from Bodie) (novel)
1966 Big As Life (novel)
1971 The Book of Daniel (novel)
1975 Ragtime (novel)
1979 Drinks Before Dinner (drama)
1980 Loon Lake (novel)
1980 American Anthem (text to Jean-Claude Suarás’ photos)
1984 Lives of the Poets: Six Stories and a Novella
1985 World’s Fair (novel)
1989 Billy Bathgate (novel)
1993 Jack London, Hemingway, and The Constitution: Selected Essays 1977-1992 (UK: Poets and Presidents)
1994 The Waterworks (novel)
2000 City of God (novel)
2002 Lamentation: 9/11
2003 Reporting the Universe
2004 Sweet Land Stories
2005 The March (novel)
2006 Creationists: Selected Essays, 1993-2006
2009 Homer & Langley (novel)
2011 All The Time In The World: New And Selected Stories (stories)
2013 Andrew’s Brain (novel)
2017 Collected Stories