Home » USA » William H. Gass

William H. Gass


William H. Gass was born in Fargo, North Dakota, in 1924. His father taught mechanical drawing. After attending Kenyon College and Wesleyan University, he served as an ensign in the US Navy during World War II. After the war, he returned to Kenyon College to study philosophy and then took a Ph. D. in philosophy at Cornell. He then taught at college of Wooster and then Purdue. He initially published short stories, including excerpts from his first novel, Omensetter’s Luck. Publication of Omensetter’s Luck was delayed when the manuscript was stolen. It was also rejected by several publishers before publication. He has since published several well-received novels, short story collections and works of non-fiction. He has also been a professor at Washington University in St. Louis. His magnum opus – The Tunnel – took him twenty-six year to write. He died in 2017.

Other links

William H. Gass
Featured Author: William H. Gass
Shelf Life (on his private library)
Reading William Gass


1966 Omensetter’s Luck (novel)
1968 In The Heart of the Heart of the Country (stories)
1968 Willie Masters’ Lonesome Wife (novella)
1970 Fiction and the Figures of Life (non-fiction)
1976 On Being Blue: A Philosophical Inquiry (non-fiction)
1978 The World Within the Word (non-fiction)
1984 Habitations of the Word (non-fiction)
1995 The Tunnel (novel)
1996 Finding a Form (non-fiction)
1998 Cartesian Sonata and Other Novellas (novellas)
1999 Reading Rilke: Reflections on the Problems of Translation (non-fiction)
2002 Tests of Time (non-fiction)
2006 A Temple of Texts (non-fiction)
2012 Life Sentences (Literary Judgments and Accounts)
2013 Middle C (novel)
2015 Eyes (novellas and stories)
2018 The William H. Gass Reader