Home » USA » John Williams

John Williams


John Williams was born in 1922 in Clarksville, Texas. After serving in the Army Air Force during World War II, he went to the University of Denver, where he obtained a B.A. and a M.A. and then a Ph. D. in English literature at the University of Missouri. He subsequently taught for much of his life at the University of Denver. He wrote four novels and two books of poetry. One novel – The Sleep of Reason – was unfinished at the time of his death in 1994. His third novel, Stoner, has been a cult hit on and off since it was first published. He should not be confused with the other writers called John Williams, including the Welsh novelist, the African-American novelist, John A Williams, John Sibley Williams, the poet, John Hartley Williams, the Welsh poet, John Richard Williams and the Welsh poet, John James Williams.

Other links

John Williams
John Williams, a great and forgotten American novelist
The Inner Lives of Men (profile)
Sixteen years after his death, not-so-famous novelist John Williams is finding his audience
John Edward Williams Papers


1948 Nothing But the Night (novel)
1949 The Broken Landscape (poetry)
1960 Butcher’s Crossing (novel)
1965 The Necessary Lie (poetry)
1965 Stoner (novel)
1972 Augustus (novel)