Home » USA » Richard Marius

Richard Marius


Richard Marius was born in 1933 in Martel, Tennessee. His father was a foundryman and his mother a journalist. He studied at the University of Tennessee and at Yale. After a career as a journalist and as an assistant professor, he became Senior Lecturer on English at Harvard and wrote on the Reformation, including biographies of Thomas More and Martin Luther. However, he was better known – though not well enough – as the author of a few novels set in the American West in the 19th century. He died in 1999.

Other links

Richard Marius
Richard Marius
Richard Marius


1969 The Coming of Rain (novel)
1974 Luther
1976 Bound for the Promised Land (novel)
1984 Thomas More: a Biography
1985 A Writer’s Companion
1989 A Short Guide to Writing about History
1992 After the War (novel)
1999 Martin Luther: The Christian Between God and Death
2001 An Affair of Honor (novel)
2005 A Short Guide To Writing About History (with Melvin E Page)
2006 Reading Faulkner: Introductions to the First Thirteen Novels
2006 Wrestling with God: The Meditations of Richard Marius