Home » USA » Leslie Marmon Silko

Leslie Marmon Silko


Leslie Marmon Silko was born Leslie Marmon in 1948 in Albuquerque, a Laguna Indian. (Silko is her second husband’s name.) She grew up on a Pueblo reservation. She took a B.A. from the University of New Mexico and studied law, before giving it up. She taught at community colleges and then universities, including a period in Alaska, where she wrote Ceremony. This book had considerable critical success and is now recognised as one of the major Native American novels. It was fourteen years before she published her second novel, Almanac of the Dead, a large novel with multiple plots and many characters, which did not receive the same success as its predecessor. She has also written extensively on Native American culture.

Other links

Her homepage
Leslie Marmon Silko
Leslie Marmon Silko
Leslie Marmon Silko
Leslie Marmon Silko (1948-)


1974 Laguna Woman (poetry)
1977 Ceremony (novel)
1980 Western Stories (poetry)
1981 Storyteller (poetry/stories)
1986 Delicacy And Strength of Lace (correspondence)
1991 Almanac of the Dead (novel)
1993 Sacred Water: Narratives and Pictures
1993 Yellow Woman (criticism)
1994 Voices Under One Sky (poetry)
1995 Rooster and the Power of Love (correspondence)
1996 Love Poem and Slim Man Canyon (poetry)
1996 Rain (poetry)
1996 Yellow Woman and a Beauty of the Spirit: Essays on Native American Life Today
1999 Gardens in the Dunes (novel)
2010 The Turquoise Ledge: A Memoir