Home » USA » Susan Sontag

Susan Sontag


Susan Sontag was born Susan Rosenblatt, in New York in 1933. Her father ran a fur trading business in China and died when Sontag was five years old. She grew up in Tucson and Los Angeles. She went to the University of California, at the age of fifteen, and then to the University of Chicago, where she took a B. A. in philosophy. She then went to Harvard where she took an M. A. in English and then one in philosophy. She later studied in Oxford and Paris. She taught in various institutions in the United States. Though she wrote four novels, she is best known as an essayist. Her Against Interpretation is a seminal work of philosophy. She was also very active in left-wing causes, often making controversial statements on such issues as the Vietnam War and the 9/11 attacks. She died in 2004.

Other links

Official website
Susan Sontag
Susan Sontag
Sontag: mother of invention
Susan Sontag Provokes Debate on Communism
So Whose Words Are They? Susan Sontag Creates a Stir
Susan Sontag, rest in peace (Sontag entry in Oxford Companion to Women’s Writing in the United States)
Sexing Susan Sontag (on Sontag’s sexuality) (no, I don’t care either)
Fascinating Fascism (essay by Sontag)Interview


Desperately Seeking Susan
Susan Sontag Remembering an intellectual heroine
Susan Sontag
Appreciation Susan Sontag 1933-2004
Susan Sontag, essayist, social activist, dead at 71
Author Susan Sontag Dies
Susan Sontag (1933-2004)
Postscript: Susan Sontag
On Susan Sontag
Remembering Susan Sontag (by her son)


1963 The Benefactor (novel)
1966 Against Interpretation and Other Essays (essays)
1967 Death Kit (novel)
1969 Duet for Cannibals (screenplay)
1969 Styles of Radical Will (essays)
1969 Trip to Hanoi (essay)
1971 Brother Carl: A Filmscript (screenplay)
1974 Promised Lands (screenplay)
1977 On Photography (nonfiction)
1978 I, etcetera (short stories)
1978 Illness as Metaphor (nonfiction)
1980 Under the Sign of Saturn (essays)
1982 A Susan Sontag Reader (collection)
1983 Unguided Tour (screenplay)
1989 AIDS and Its Metaphors (nonfiction)
1991 The Way We Live Now (story)
1992 The Volcano Lover (novel)
1993 Alice in Bed: A Play in Eight Scenes (drama)
1999 In America (novel)
2001 Where the Stress Falls (essays)
2003 Regarding the Pain of Others (nonfiction)
2007 At the Same Time: Essays & Speeches
2008 Reborn: Journals and Notebooks 1947-1964
2012 As Consciousness Is Harnessed to Flesh: Journals and Notebooks, 1964-1980
2017 Later Essays
2017 Debriefing : Collected Stories (UK: Stories Collected Stories)
2018 Notes on ‘Camp’ (essays)
2023 On Women (essays)