Home » USA » T. Coraghessan Boyle

T. Coraghessan Boyle


T. Coraghessan Boyle (he now tends to use the name T C Boyle) used to write cool, hip, funny novels. He messed around with history, had decidedly weird characters and even weirder plots, played language games and generally subverted the novel form. His books were fun to read but also served a serious purpose, whether it to be satirise the bad guys and the bad things that they do or to play around with ideas in a way that Thomas Pynchon plays around with ideas.

T. Coraghessan Boyle was born Thomas John Boyle in 1948 in Peekskill, New York (it appears as Peterskill in his work). He changed his middle name to Coraghessan when he was seventeen, taking it from his mother’s side of the family. His father drove a school bus and his mother was a secretary. Both died from alcoholism-related diseases before he was thirty. He graduated in English and history from the State University of New York at Potsdam and then worked as a teacher. He wrote stories and was accepted into the University of Iowa Workshop. He later earned an MFA and Ph. D. He became a teacher at the University of Southern California. He has written a series of successful novels and short stories and is also known for his flamboyant appearance. This behaviour as well as his extensive use of humour, often black, literary and linguistic games and his shallow characters means that he did not always receive the credit he deserved for being a highly creative and imaginative writer, well worth reading. Sadly, though, in recent years, he seems to have somewhat lost his touch.

Other links

His own website
T. C. Boyle
T. Coraghessan Boyle
All about T. Coraghessan Boyle
Featured Author: T. Coraghessan Boyle


1979 Descent of Man (stories)
1981 Water Music (novel)
1984 Budding Prospects: A Pastoral (novel)
1985 Greasy Lake & Other Stories
1987 World’s End (novel)
1989 If the River Was Whiskey (stories)
1990 East Is East (novel)
1993 The Collected Stories of T. Coraghessan Boyle
1993 The Road to Wellville (novel)
1994 Without a Hero: Stories
1995 The Tortilla Curtain (novel)
1998 T. C. Boyle Stories: The Collected Stories of T. Coraghessan Boyle
1998 Riven Rock (novel)
2000 A Friend of the Earth (novel)
2001 After the Plague And Other Stories
2003 Drop City (novel)
2004 The Inner Circle (novel)
2005 Tooth and Claw (stories)
2005 The Human Fly (young adult)
2006 Talk Talk (novel)
2009 The Women (novel)
2010 Wild Child (stories)
2011 When the Killing’s Done (novel)
2012 San Miguel (novel)
2015 The Harder they Come (novel)
2016 The Terranauts (novel)
2017 The Relive Box and Other Stories (stories)
2019 Outside Looking In (novel)
2021 Talk to Me (novel)
2021 Two for the Money (novel)
I Walk Between the Raindrops (stories)
2-23 Blue Skies (novel)