Home » USA » Alice Walker

Alice Walker


Alice Walker was born in 1944 in Eatonton, Georgia. She lost sight in one eye at the age of eight when her brother accidentally shot her with BB gun. Her parents were sharecroppers. She received a scholarship to Spelman College in Atlanta, and later to Sarah Lawrence College in the Bronx, New York. She became very politically active while still at college. She was also writing at this time and published her first book of poetry while still a senior. After college she returned to the South, where she taught black history. She was married and divorced and had a daughter, Rebecca. She published her first novel in 1970 and continued to write novels and stories, often depicting the plight of black women and the sexism and racism they face. However, her real a success came withThe Color Purple, which won the Pulitzer Prize and was made into a well-known film, directed by Steven Spielberg. She has continued to publish but has not repeated that success.

Books about Alice Walker

Evelyn C White: Alice Walker: A Life

Other links

Her homepage
Anniina’s Alice Walker Page
Alice Walker

Alice Walker
Alice Walker
Alice Walker
Alice Walker
Alice Walker
Alice Walker (b. 1944)
About Alice Walker
Featured Author: Alice Walker (New York Times)
Alice Walker: Why I am sailing to Gaza on the Freedom Flotilla
Alice Walker Doesn’t Mince Words in Challenging Israeli Blockade of Gaza
Alice Walker Literary Society


1968 Once (poetry)
1970 The Third Life of Grange Copeland (novel)
1973 Langston Hughes: American Poet (biography)
1973 Revolutionary Petunias (poetry)
1973 In Love and Trouble: Stories of Black Women< (stories)br>
1976 Meridian (novel)
1979 Goodnight, Willie Lee, I’ll See You in the Morning (poetry)
1981 You Can’t Keep a Good Woman Down (stories
1982 The Color Purple (novel)
1983 In Search of Our Mothers’ Gardens: Womanist Prose
1986 Horses Make a Landscape Look More Beautiful (poetry)
1988 Living by the Word: Selected Writings, 1973-1987
1988 To Hell with Dying (children’s)
1989 The Temple of My Familiar (novel)
1991 Her Blue Body Everything We Know: Earthling Poems, 1965-1990
1992 Possessing the Secret of Joy (novel)
1994 The Complete Short Stories
1996 The Same River Twice: Honoring the Difficult: A Meditation on Life, Spirit, Art, and the Making of the Film, The Color Purple, Ten Years Later
1997 Anything We Love Can Be Saved: A Writer’s Activism: Essays, Speeches, Statements and Letters
1998 By the Light of My Father’s Smile (novel)
2001 The Way Forward Is with a Broken Heart (stories)
2002 Sent by Earth: A Message From The Grandmother Spirit After The Attacks of the World Trade Center and Pentagon
2003 Absolute Trust in the Goodness of the Earth: New Poems
2003 You Can’t Keep a Good Woman Down (stories)
2003 A Poem Traveled Down My Arm: Poems And Drawings
2004 Now Is The Time To Open Your Heart (novel)
2005 Collected Poems
2005 The Same River Twice (biography/literature)
2006 We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For (essay)
2006 There is a Flower At The Tip Of My Nose Smelling Me (juvenile)
2010 Overcoming Speechlessness (her visits to devastated areas)
2010 Hard Times Require Furious Dancing (poetry)
2010 The World Has Changed (conversations)
2011 The Chicken Chronicles (memoirs)
2013 The Cushion In The Road : Meditation And Wandering As The Whole World Awakens To Being In Harm’s Way
2013 The World will Follow Joy: Turning Madness into Flowers (poetry)
2018 Taking the Arrow Out of the Heart (poetry)
2020 Gathering Blossoms Under Fire: The Journals of Alice Walker
Sweet People Are Everywhere (children’s)