Home » USA » Frank Waters

Frank Waters


Frank Waters was born in 1902 in Colorado Springs. He studied engineering at Colorado College but quit college and worked at various jobs, while travelling around. During World War II he worked under Nelson Rockefeller in the Office of the Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs. He continued in various jobs, including newspaper editor, working at Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory and as a Hollywood scriptwriter. He became interested in the Native American peoples and wrote about them and studied them with a Rockefeller Foundation grant. He died in 1995. His writing reflects his interest in the West and in Native American culture, about which he wrote both fiction and non-fiction.

Books about Frank Waters

Vine Deloria (Ed.): Frank Waters: Man and Mystic
Thomas Lyons: Frank Waters

Other links

Frank Waters
Frank Waters

Frank Waters Papers (with biography)
The Frank Waters Foundation


1930 Fever Pitch (original title: The Lizard Woman and republished with that title) (novel)
1935 The Wild Earth’s Nobility (novel)
1937 Below Grass Roots (novel)
1937 Midas of the Rockies
1940 The Dust Within the Rock (novel)
1941 People of the Valley (novel)
1942 The Man Who Killed the Deer (novel)
1942 River Lady (with Houston Branch) (novel)
1946 The Colorado
1947 The Yogi of Cockroach Court (novel)
1948 Diamond Head (with Houston Branch) (novel)
1950 Masked Gods: Navaho and Pueblo Ceremonialism
1960 The Earp Brothers of Tombstone
1963 Book of the Hopi
1963 Engineering Space Exploration: Robert Gilruth.
1964 Leon Gaspard
1966 The Woman at Otowi Crossing (novel)
1969 Pumpkin Seed Point
1971 Pike’s Peak (novel)
1973 To Possess the Land
1975 Mexico Mystique: The Coming Sixth World of Consciousness
1981 Mountain Dialogues
1986 Flight from Fiesta
1993 Brave Are My People: Indian Heroes Not Forgotten
1998 Of Time and Change: a Memoir
1999 A Frank Waters Reader: A Southwestern Life In Writing