Home » India » Amitav Ghosh

Amitav Ghosh


Amitav Ghosh was born in Calcutta in 1956. He was educated at Delhi University and Oxford, where he earned a D. Phil. in social anthropology. He first worked as a journalist before becoming a full-time writer. He is married to the biographer Deborah Baker.

Other links

His own website
His Facebook page
Amitav Ghosh
Amitav Ghosh
Amitav Ghosh
Amitav Ghosh


1986 The Circle of Reason (novel)
1990 The Shadow Lines (novel)
1992 In an Antique Land (travel)
1995 The Calcutta Chromosome (novel)
1999 Countdown (essay)
2000 The Glass Palace (novel)
2004 The Hungry Tide (novel)
2006 Incendiary Circumstances (essays)
2008 Dancing in Cambodia and At Large in Burma (essays)
2008 Sea of Poppies (novel)
2008 The Imam and the Indian (essays)
2011 River of Smoke (novel)
2015 Flood of Fire (novel)
2016 The Great Derangement : Climate Change and the Unthinkable
2019 Gun Island (novel)
2021 Jungle-nama (novel)
2021 Uncanny And Improbable Events (novel)
2021 The Nutmeg’s Curse – Parables for a Planet in Crisis
2024 Smoke and Ashes