Home » Belgium » Amélie Nothomb

Amélie Nothomb


Amélie Nothomb was born Fabienne-Claire Nothomb in Belgium in 1966, the daughter of a Belgian diplomat. She has consistently claimed metaphorically to have been born in Kobe, Japan in 1967 though this is not accurate. She spent the first five years of her life in Japan and learned Japanese. Subsequently, she lived in China, New York, Bangladesh, Myanmar and Laos, before returning to Belgium at the age of seventeen to study at the Université Libre de Bruxelles. It was at this time that she started writing. She has been very prolific though she has declined to publish most of the novels she has written. She published her first novel at the age of twenty-five and has since published almost a novel a year. She lived in Brussels with her sister but now lives in Paris on her own. The two sisters, however, remain very close.

Other Links

Amélie Nothomb
Amélie Nothomb
A Week in Culture: Amélie Nothomb, Writer
The Uncanny & Interesting Films of Belgian writer, Amélie Nothomb
Her website (in French)
Amélie Nothomb (in French)
Amélie Nothomb (in French)
Amélie Nothomb (in French)
Amélie Nothomb, contes et légendes (in French)
Qui est Amélie Nothomb? (in French)
Comment je suis devenue Amélie Nothomb (in French)
10 choses que vous ne savez pas forcément sur Amélie Nothomb (in French)
Interview (in French)
Interview (in French)
Interview (in French)


1992 Hygiène de l’assassin (Hygiene and the Assassin)
1993 Le sabotage amoureux (Loving Sabotage)
1994 Les combustibles (Human Rites)
1995 Les catilinaires (The Stranger Next Door)
1996 Péplum
1997 Attentat
1998 Mercure
1999 Stupeur et tremblements (Fear and Trembling)
1999 Brillant comme une casserole
2000 Métaphysique des tubes (The Character of Rain)
2001 Cosmétique de l’ennemi
2002 Robert des noms propres (The Book of Proper Names)
2003 Antéchrista (Antichrista)
2004 Biographie de la faim (The Life of Hunger)
2005 Acide sulfurique (Sulphuric Acid)
2006 Journal d’hirondelle
2007 Ni d’Ève Ni d’Adam (Tokyo Fiancée)
2008 Le fait du prince
2009 Le Voyage d’hiver
2010 Une forme de vie (Life Form)
2011 Tuer le père
2012 Barbe bleue
2013 La nostalgie heureuse
2014 Pétronille (Pétronille)
2015 Le crime du comte Neville [The Crime of Count Neville]
2016 Riquet à la houppe [Riquet with the Tuft]
2017 Frappe-toi le coeur (Strike Your Heart)
2018 Les prénoms épicènes [The Epicene First Names]
2018 La bouche des carpes (interview)
2019 Soif (Thirst)
2020 Les aérostats [Airships]
2021 Premier sang (First Blood) (novel)
2022 Le livre des soeurs [The Book of the Sisters] (novel)
2023 Psychopompe [Psychopomp]
2024 L’impossible retour