Home » England » Andrew Sinclair

Andrew Sinclair


Andrew Sinclair was born in Oxford in 1935. He went to Eton, served two years in the Coldstream Guards, before going to Trinity College, Cambridge, where he took a double first in history. He then did a Ph. D. in American History at Churchill College, Cambridge. He then pursued an academic career, first in the United States and then in England. He wrote his first novel, based on his experience in the Coldstream Guards, while still at Cambridge. He was managing director of Lorrimer Publishing, a publisher specialising in film books, from 1967 to 1984. He has written novels, short stories and screenplays and, more recently, has specialised in non-fiction, particularly history. He wrote the screen play and directed Under Milk Wood. He is a Knight Grand Cross of the Scottish Knights Templar and has written several books about them and the Holy Grail. Most of his novels are out of print. He died in 2019.

Other links

Andrew Sinclair
Andrew Sinclair
Andrew Sinclair
Andrew (Annandale) Sinclair Biography


1959 The Breaking of Bumbo
1959 My Friend Judas
1960 The Project
1962 Prohibition: The Era of Excess
1963 The Hallelujah Bum (US: The Paradise Bum)
1964 The Raker
1965 The Available Man: The Life Behind the Masks of Warren Gamaliel Harding
1965 The Better Half: The Emancipation of the American Woman
1967 A Concise History of the United States
1967 Gog
1967 Adventures in the Skin Trade by Dylan Thomas (stage adaptation)
1969 The Last of the Best: The Aristocracy of Europe in the Twentieth Century
1970 Guevara (US: Che Guevara) (updated as: Viva Che!: The Strange Death and Life of Che Guevara)
1972 Magog
1972 Under Milk Wood by Dylan Thomas (screenplay)
1975 Dylan Thomas: Poet of His People (US: Dylan Thomas: No Man More Magical)
1976 The Surrey Cat
1976 Inkydoo, the Wild Boy (later: Carina and the Wild Boy)
1977 The Savage: A History of Misunderstanding
1977 Jack: A Biography of Jack London
1978 A Patriot for Hire
1979 John Ford
1979 The Facts in the Case of E.A. Poe
1981 Corsair: The Life of J. Pierpont Morgan
1981 The Other Victoria: The Princess Royal and the Great Game of Europe
1982 Royal Web (with Ladislas Farago)
1984 Sir Walter Raleigh and the Age of Discovery
1985 Beau Bumbo
1986 The Red and the Blue: Intelligence, Treason and the Universities (US: The Red and the Blue: Cambridge, Treason, and Intelligence)
1987 Spiegel: The Man Behind the Pictures
1988 King Ludd
1989 War Like a Wasp: The Lost Decade of the ‘Forties
1990 The Need to Give: The Patron and the Arts
1991 The Far Corners of the Earth
1991 The Naked Savage
1992 The Strength of the Hills
1992 The Sword and the Grail: The Story of the Grail and the Templars and a True Discovery of America
1993 Francis Bacon: His Life and Violent Times
1993 Patron Is Not a Dirty Word
1994 In Love and Anger: A View of the ‘Sixties
1995 Arts and Cultures: The History of the 50 Years of the Arts Council of Great Britain
1995 Jerusalem: The Endless Crusade
1998 Death by Fame: A Life of Elizabeth of Austria
1998 The Discovery of the Grail
1999 Dylan the Bard: A Life of Dylan Thomas
2001 The Secret Scroll
2003 Blood and Kin: An Empire Saga
2003 An Anatomy of Terror: The History of Terrorism
2005 Secret Scroll
2006 Rosslyn
2007 The Reivers’ Trail
2007 The Grail: The Quest for a Legend
2008 Man and Horse: Four Thousand Years of the Mounted Warrior
2008 The Rebel Masons: The True Story behind the Solomon Key
2014 Under Milk Wood: The Making of the Screenplay
2018 Storytelling