Home » Ireland » John Banville

John Banville


John Banville was born in Wexford in 1945. He was educated at St. Peter’s College, Wexford. He worked for Aer Lingus, which enabled him to travel widely. He was the literary editor of the Irish Times for eleven years. His first published work was a collection of stories. Since then he has published many well-reviewed novels, several based on real people. He has also written two plays. In 2005 he won the Man Booker Prize for his novel, The Sea. He has also written crime novels under the pseudonym Benjamin Black.

Other links

John Banville
John Banville
John Banville
John Banville: a life in writing


1970 Long Lankin
1971 Nightspawn
1973 Birchwood
1976 Dr Copernicus
1981 Kepler
1982 The Newton Letter
1986 Mefisto
1987 The Broken Jug
1989 The Book of Evidence
1993 Ghosts
1995 Athena
1996 The Ark
1997 The Untouchable
2000 Eclipse
2002 Shroud
2003 Prague Pictures: Portrait of a City
2005 The Sea
2006 Christine Falls (as Benjamin Black)
2007 The Silver Swan (as Benjamin Black)
2008 The Lemur (as Benjamin Black)
2009 The Infinities
2010 Elegy for April (as Benjamin Black)
2011 A Death in Summer (as Benjamin Black)
2012 Ancient Light
2013 Holy Orders (as Benjamin Black)
2014 The Black-Eyed Blonde (as Benjamin Black)
2015 The Blue Guitar
2016 Time Pieces (Memoir)
2017 Mrs. Osmond
2017 Prague Nights (US:wolf on a String) (as Benjamin Black)
2020 The Secret Guests (as B W Black)
2020 Snow
2020 The Secret Guest (as Benjamin Black)
2021 April in Spain
2022 The Singularities
2023 Lock-Up
2024 The Drowned