Home » Scotland » Duncan McLean

Duncan McLean


Duncan McLean was born in 1964 in Fraserburgh. His father was a teacher and his mother a pharmacist. He started writing at school when he produced a comic at school called Condor. He went to Edinburgh University where he first studied philosophy and psychology and then English language and literature. It was at this time that he discovered both Lewis Grassic Gibbon and James Kelman. After getting his M.A. at university he joined a comedy group before working as a janitor. During this period he started writing, primarily short stories. Dissatisfaction with outlets for short stories led him to found the Clocktower Press which published not only McLean but early drafts of work by Irvine Welsh and Kelman. His first published work was a collection of short stories. He has since published well-received novels and a book on Texas Swing and written many plays, as well as working in the wine business.

Other links

Duncan McLean
Four Quick Ones (four short stories by McLean)
Big Occk Fun (short story by McLean)


1991 The Druids Shite It, Fail To Show
1992 Bucket of Tongues
1994 Blackden
1995 Bunker Man
1997 Lone Star Swing: On the Trail of Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys
1999 Duncan McLean: Plays 1 (Julie Allardyce, One Sure Thing, Rug Comes to Shuv, Blackden, and I’d Rather Go Blind)
2007 Aalst (drama)
2010 Orkney Islands: visitorkney.com
2017 Dark Island (stories)