Home » Australia » David Foster

David Foster


David Foster was born in Sydney in 1944. His parents were radio comedians. After attending the University of Sydney, he worked as a research scientist in the USA and Sydney before becoming a full-time writer. He has worked at a variety of jobs, including laborer, swimming-pool manager, drummer, postman and deckhand on a prawn trawler. He has written a variety of works – novels, fiction, travel accounts and poetry. His writing style has been described as that of a grim joyless farceur and he himself has said There are worse motivations than tribal obligations, loyalty to a mate, fear of not being a real man, idle intellectual curiosity. While he was known in Australia before, he only obtained international fame with the publication of The Glade Within the Grove.)

Other links

David Foster
David Foster


1973 North, South, West : Three Novellas
1974 The Pure Land (novel)
1975 The Fleeing Atalanta (poetry)
1977 The Empathy Experiment (with D.K. Lyall)
1977 Escape to Reality ( short stories
1981 Moonlite (novel)
1983 Plumbum (novel)
1985 Dog Rock : A Postal Pastoral (novel)
1986 The Adventures of Christian Rosy Cross (novel)
1987 Testostero (novel)
1988 The Pale Blue Crochet Coathanger Cover (novel)
1989 Hitting The Wall : Two Novellas
1991 Mates of Mars (novel)
1994 A Slab of Foster’s
1996 The Glade Within the Grove (novel)
1997 The Ballad of Erinungarah (poetry)
1999 In the New Country (novel)
1999 Studs and Nogs: Essays 1987-98
2002 The Land where Stories End (novel)
2002 A Year of Slow Food (with Gerda Foster) (non-fiction)
2009 Sons of the Rumour (novel)
2012 Man of Letters (novel)
2012 Sons of the Rumour (poetry)
2014 he Niquab and the Mumkin
2018 The Contemptuary