Home » Australia » Alexis Wright

Alexis Wright


Alexis Wright was born in Cloncurry, Queensland, in 1950. She is a member of the Waanyi tribe. Her father was a white cattleman who died when she was five. She grew up with her mother and grandmother. As well as writing fiction and non-fiction, she has edited an anthology on the history of the land rights movement. She has also been very much involved in this movement.

Other links

Alexis Wright
Alexis Wright


1987 Plains of Promise (novel)
1997 Grog War (non-fiction)
2000 Croire en l’incroyable (non-fiction)
2002 Le pacte de serpent (stories)
2006 Carpentaria (novel)
2013 The Swan Book (novel)
2017 Tracker (memoir)
2023 Praiseworthy (novel)