Home » USA » Richard Bausch

Richard Bausch


Richard Bausch was born in Fort Benning, Georgia, in 1945. He is the twin brother of the writer Robert Bausch. He served in the Air Force from 1965 to 1969 and later studied at Northern Virginia Community College and George Mason University, where he later taught. He writes domestic fiction – failed (but only slightly failed) families, living lies (but not major lies), unable to cope with the real world.

Other links

His homepage
Richard Bausch
Richard Bausch
Ploughshares articles by Richard Bausch


1980 Real Presence (novel)
1981 Take Me Back (novel)
1984 The Last Good Time (novel)
1987 Spirits and Other Stories
1989 Mr. Field’s Daughter (novel)
1990 The Fireman’s Wife and Other Stories
1992 Violence (novel)
1993 Rebel Powers (novel)
1994 Rare & Endangered Species, a Novella & Stories
1995 Aren’t You Happy For Me? and Other Stories
1996 Good Evening Mr. and Mrs. America and All the Ships at Sea (novel)
1996 The Selected Stories of Richard Bausch
1998 In the Night Season (novel)
1999 Someone to Watch over Me (stories)
2002 Hello to the Cannibals (novel)
2003 The Stories of Richard Bausch
2004 Wives & Lovers: Three Short Novels
2006 Thanksgiving Night (novel)
2009 Peace (novel)
2009 These Extremes (poetry and prose collection)
2010 Something is Out There (stories)
2014 Before, During, After (novel)
2017 Living in the Weather of the World (stories)