Home » Australia » Gerald Murnane

Gerald Murnane


Gerald Murnane was born in Coburg, Melbourne in 1939. His father was a prison warder but was also a reckless gambler, which meant that the family had to frequently move. After school, he trained for the priesthood but soon gave that up to train as a teacher. He worked as a teacher and then, later on, studying in his spare time, took a B.A. from the University of Melbourne. He started writing poetry but soon switched to prose fiction. His first two novels were semi-autobiographical but, starting with The Plains, his novels have been described as somewhere between conventional fiction and philosophical writing. He has never had much critical success though, more recently, he has started to get a reputation outside Australia and is considered by some to be one of the finest Australian writer.

Other links

Gerald Murnane
A detrimental education (article by Murnane)
When The Mice Failed To Arrive (article by Murnane)
he Reclusive Giant of Australian Fiction


1974 Tamarisk Row
1976 A Lifetime on Clouds
1982 The Plains
1985 Landscape With Landscape
1988 Inland
1990 Velvet Waters
1995 Emerald Blue
2005 Invisible Yet Enduring Lilacs (essays)
2009 Barley Patch
2012 A History of Books
2014 A Million Windows
2015 Something For the Pain (memoir)
2017 Border Districts (novel)
2018 Stream System (short stories)
2018 Collected Short Fiction
2019 A Season on Earth
2019 Green Shadows and Other Poems
2021 Last Letter to a Reader (essays)